Arrhythmogenic malignancies in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy

Shaji C. Menon, J. Martijn Bos, Steve R. Ommen, Michael J. Ackerman

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

3 Scopus citations


Cardiomyopathies are diseases of the myocardium associated with cardiac dysfunction. According to the World Health Organization (WHO) classification, cardiomyopathies are classified either as primary or secondary cardiomyopathies. Based on morphological and functional criteria, heritable cardiomyopathies are classified into four primary categories including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM), dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy (ARVC), and restrictive cardiomyopathy (RCM). More recently, left ventricular noncompaction (LVNC) syndrome has been added. Secondary cardiomyopathies include, for example, ischemic and hypertensive cardiomyopathy. This chapter focuses solely on HCM, with particular attention to its arrhythmogenic features.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationElectrical Diseases of the Heart
Subtitle of host publicationGenetics, Mechanisms, Treatment, Prevention
PublisherSpringer London
Number of pages17
ISBN (Print)9781846288531
StatePublished - 2008

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Medicine


Dive into the research topics of 'Arrhythmogenic malignancies in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this